top of page

Laughing Is Good For The Soul.


A rare candid of me actually smiling

Laughing isn't something that has only come around now. Laughing has been around for years and years and it is so underestimated.

Nothing feels better than an achy stomach and a mouth that hurts from laughing so much. I am very much a child at heart and I do find myself in tears over something so ridiculous as a silly noise - I thought I'd grow out of it by the time I turned 18...

The past few days, I've laughed so hard and I've never felt so content and happy. Despite waking up this morning in a sour mood, I MADE myself look for the humour in situations. Come, 8 pm I am happily relaxed after having a day filled with laughter.

It's SO important to surround yourself with people who make you giggle over anything and everything, or at least people that allow you to laugh at silly sounds!!

Laughing not only makes us smile lots, but (this is the scientific part) it releases dopamine which creates serotonin which is known as the happy chemical which contributes to our well-being, appetite, sleep and more.

Even when you're having a bad day, you're allowed to laugh. It doesn't have to be a 100% bad day. Also, don't feel guilty for actually having a laugh and enjoying yourself even if it is for a short while, just focus on that feeling of warmth and cheeriness.

So, if I haven't convinced you to laugh more. Here are some benefits that laughing can give us :

  • Lowers blood pressure.

  • Decreases stress hormones.

  • Increases T-cells which are immune cells.

  • Triggers the release of endorphins (what makes us feel good).

  • Produces a general sense of well-being.

  • Works your abs (this is brilliant for a non gym goer like myself..).

How to find humour in daily life? Even on a crap day when everything is going wrong? Even when you don't have the energy to get through the day? Even when you're generally going through a hard time?

Here's how -

Laugh at yourself. Whether you embarrass yourself or crack a funny joke (even if you're the only one who finds it funny). Laugh at the ridiculousness of the day. Laugh it all off. Even when you feel like giving up on it all, find the strength to have a giggle over at least one thing and notice how it makes you feel.

Laugh when a situation feels awkward. Make light of situations. Life can actually be very funny if we look for the humour. It's always there, I promise you.

Laugh to distract yourself.

Laugh at this post if it's made you cringe (it probably has).

Just laugh when you can!

Ciao for now x


bottom of page