top of page

How The Staff At Marks and Spencer Saved My Grandmother


In this week's post, I wanted to talk about how the staff at a particular Marks and Spencer's store have helped my Grandmother aka Mingu to cope after the loss of my Grandad (Tadcu) 3 years ago. With a marriage of over 50 years taken away so soon, my Mingu was lost, depressed but of course hugely heartbroken.

She struggled to know where to turn and this is where the staff at M&S come in. More specifically the staff at the Deli - which is soon to close - at Marks and Spencer Culverhouse Cross.

Where to begin? Some time after the passing of my Tadcu, my Mingu started going to the Deli. It was one of few places she hadn't been with my Tad-cu and so it wasn't met with such painful memories.

Nevertheless it was hard as I'm sure you'd imagine.

As mentioned above, the Deli is soon to close and my Mingu is gutted. Initially we were going to put out a simple tweet to give recognition to the Marks and Spencer Twitter handle, however, with something that has brought so much happiness, especially during tear-filled times, I thought the least they deserved was a little something to show just how much they've helped.

Whilst we really want to show a tremendous amount of appreciation and thanks to a big group of them who've helped her massively such as Jo, Heather, Liz, Jamie, Brad, Becky, Josh and Andrew, we wanted to give special thanks to these three lovely lot.

Firstly, thank you to Robert - who constantly greets you with a great big smile on his face. Throughout the 3/4 years, he has been excellent to my Mingu from the time he took the time to sit down and warn her about a telephone scam going around at the time that was targeting women of her age to bringing gifts home for her from his holidays. He's also taken to nicknaming her, which just shows the level of friendship there. Say no more - a famous saying of his!

Secondly is Sarah, whose consistently been friendly and has always been there for a chat and has repeatedly tried her very best to make her feel better on her bad days. One occasion I'd like to highlight here is the time my Mingu was ill with a sore throat and Sarah brought some soup over to her house. It's amazing to think that incredibly people like her are still around, we need more of them!!

Ever since she was moved to the cafe she has made efforts through text to meet up with my Mingu for a chat and coffee. Many a time she's bought flowers and plants for her and the one time it happened to be my Tad-cu's anniversary despite her not knowing this, nevertheless it made her day completely.

Lastly, Debbie who has remained friendly and caring towards my Mingu throughout. Recently, after the news of the closing, she bought a card with a special message in it thanking my Min-gu and also a gift for her. Last year, she kept spirits high when she was responsible for selling biscuits leading up to the Christmas period. It was lovely to hear funny tales relayed from my Mingu. This is something she's really missing this year!!

It's the little things that have been done for her over the years. It's the little things like when they'd see her park up her car and they'd get her usual of a latte ready and her favourite news paper set up on the table for her. It's the little things like being there to chat to when times were hard.

It's the little things like asking where's she's been if she's been absent for a couple of days. It's the little things like making a fuss on her birthday by giving cards and presents signed off the staff and the little slice of cake they gave her with a single candle on it. It's the little things like them being adamant that she goes to their leavers party, and I stress the word adamant here, they won't take no for an answer.

This is what my Mingu wanted to say - "Thank you all so very much for helping me cope after losing my husband and being there for me. I've been really spoilt by the staff at the Deli."

None of what they've done over the years has been because it's their job, nor has it been because they're paid to do it. They've done it because they're good people. Insanely kind-hearted and caring people should I say.

They've provided a safe and happy place for her to go to and a positive distraction from her heartbreak of losing my Tad-cu.

As her family, I don't think we can thank them all enough. I know I'll definitely miss hearing the heart-warming, weekly update of all the good that's been done for her by the staff at the Deli.

So, thank you from the bottom of our hearts to the staff at the Deli, Marks and Spencer's Culverhouse Cross (Cardiff). You've massively impacted not just my Mingu's life but all of us. It's been lovely to hear such positive and kind things said about each and every one of you.

Ciao for now x

bottom of page