top of page

Being Female.


Please don't attack me, this isn't me being a feminist, attacking other men. Yes, I'm a feminist, but feminism certainly isn't about attacking men.

Today I wanted to discuss, unfortunately, the crap bits about being a female.

Being female is going through thousands of different outfits before a night out, questioning if you're showing too much skin. It's worrying that wearing that new dress means that others will think they have the right to touch you or catcall you.

Being female means contemplating how you approach every new male in your life, that smile might mean you fancy them, it's so clearly a sign of flirting isn't it?

Being female means having to ring someone whilst you walk down a dark alley or street just in case someone approaches you.

Being female means actually trying to avoid being "accidentally" touched by another on a night out when all you want to do is dance and have fun with your friends.

Being female means taking the long route to avoid another who could've just so happened to glance your way, but why take the chance right?

Being female means having to just accept it when another catcalls to you, because boys will be boys won't they?

Being female means another thinking they have the right to touch your bum in broad daylight in the middle of town. It doesn't matter anyway, it could've been a lot worse right?

Being female means having to approach every new male with precaution because you just can't risk trusting someone you've just met. Even when it's clear you aren't interested.

Being female can be great. I love being a female and I definitely don't have anything against men at all. Not all men are creeps and it's not only men who are creeps either. I'm speaking from mostly experience, however, I am friends with and know so many lovely men.

Being female means sometimes feeling scared when in vulnerable positions, and I just wish there was something we could set up to avoid incidents and traumatic events happening to both females and males.

I sincerely hope that this hasn't offended anyone because that wasn't my intention. I simply wanted to raise awareness of the fears we, females have to face daily. This isn't to say that it doesn't happen to males either.

Ciao for now x


bottom of page