top of page

Happy Birthday To You, Mum.


A bit of a different post today as it is in fact my amazing Mum's 61st birthday (she's still got it). Seeing as I can communicate better through writing I thought it'd be relevant to dedicate this post to my Mum, so here's to you!

First off, thank you for always providing a safe place for me. From when I screamed my lungs out at the sight of blood after a tiny graze to when I had a panic attack and you were there to hug me better.

Thank you for teaching me all that I know. I don't quite know how to build an Ikea cabinet like you do, but I'm sure I'll figure it out someday. Thank you for teaching me independence, for teaching me to be myself and let the ones who don't like it, go their own way.

Thank you for supporting my decisions, even when you thought they weren't the right ones.

Thank you for caring for me after a minor operation back in 2016 when I was "bed bound" for a few weeks. I don't know what I would've done without you.

Thank you for always being proud of me, even when my achievements were very much minuscule.

Thank you for paying for horse riding, swimming and surfing lessons. More importantly, thank you for paying for what seemed like a different hobby every week!

Thank you for always putting us, your daughters, first. Thank you for coming with me to the doctor's from when I was too young to go alone to being old enough but too fearful to go alone. Thank you for helping me through the times where I thought I couldn't go on anymore. Thank you for being strong when I couldn't be.

Thank you for all the big things you've done but most importantly thank you for the little things, because I wouldn't have been able to get by without those gestures or you by my side.

Thank you for the love and care you've constantly given me, even when I was a moody teenager, even when I was a cry at everything teenager, even when I was an angry teenager and especially when I was filled with anxiety and panic.

Lastly, thank you for showing me the same amount of love consistently despite the problems along the years, from my head being too big at birth to dressing an after-op wound daily, for a good 9 months!

Thank you for being you and for bringing us all up so well.

Happy Birthday, Mum.


bottom of page