top of page

How To Deal With Negativity


In today's post, I wanted to talk about negativity. More specifically, I wanted to discuss negativity when it comes from others. We all battle with our own negative thoughts or emotions but nobody prepares you for negativity off others, correct?

We've all heard the saying "sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me". For some reason, I associate this saying most with Primary school, and whilst sticks and stones have caused pain, unkind words have always caused the most pain.

Thankfully, I've reached a place in my life where those kinds of words don't affect me like they used to. I don't go unaffected by them because I'm a human, not a robot, but they certainly don't control me like they once did.

In the post prior to this one, I mentioned the yin yang of life which I'm sure you're aware of or have at least heard in your lifetime. We need the good and we need the bad to keep life flowing like it should for us individually.

Throughout my "journey" shall we call it, of blogging I've been incredibly fortunate to receive love and support. Those who don't necessarily agree have been wise enough to at least keep their opinion away from myself. All up until recently of course, when somebody anonymously attempted to insult me!!

I will also stress the word lucky here because I was incredibly lucky not to receive this attempted insult a few months ago where it would've hit me like a tonne of bricks. I'm lucky to be strong enough to know that the comment stems from hate, jealousy or boredom or possibly all three, and certainly not the truth.

I won't use the word hate too much because sometimes we can receive negativity from friends or family that isn't necessarily hate but them looking out for you and that can be hard to interpret.

With that said, it's important to remember that not every negativity is meant to cause pain, whether they do or they don't. Some people show their concern in ways that aren't so obvious to you.

It's also important to remember that negativity that does stem from intentions to cause you pain are never truly anything against you. For somebody to want to hurt you through unkindness says more about them than it does about you.

I see creators and celebrities receiving hateful comments when they're good people. I've always pondered how difficult that must be for them and whether or not it ever affected them.

If anything, this hate only pushes those people, other people and myself forward. It homes in that why. We all have our own why and that's what'll always continue to push us forward in life, in work, school, university - wherever you are.

Please never let anybody stop you from doing what you love and are good at. No matter how hateful their words. You're SO much better than that.

You ARE deserving of success and you're deserving of trying and trying, failing a few times, making mistakes, whatever it takes until you reach that success.

Throughout our lifetime, life, fate, God, whatever you believe, will continue to throw things in our path. Dips in the road. Lead us down dead ends. All of these wonderfully annoying aspects, but, with hard work and determination - which you ARE capable of - you will reach your destination.

Never let anyone bring you down, what you're passionate about matters. Keep going!!

Ciao for now x


bottom of page